Leading the way to excellence in mathematics teaching and learning in Louisiana


Outstanding Mathematics Teacher Awards

The Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics (LATM) honors outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers from participating schools each year.  LATM also honors an outstanding new teacher who is in his/her first three years of teaching.  We also honor an outstanding mathematics educator, which can include supervisors, coaches, lead teachers, university instructors, Department of Education personnel or others who have made a significant contribution to mathematics education (non K-12 classroom teacher).  One of the goals of LATM is to honor and recognize those individuals who model and promote standards-based mathematics teaching and learning for their students. If the nominee is not a current member of LATM, a membership form must accompany the award application. The membership form can be found under the membership link on this website.

Applications are now closed. The 2017 Awardees will be recognized at this year's annual conference.


2017 Outstanding Mathematics Teacher Awards

LATM is pleased to announce the recipients for the 2017 LATM Awards. They are as follows:


2016 LATM Outstanding Elementary School Math Teacher:

Rebecca Kliebert - Fairfield Elementary Magnet in Caddo Parish


2017 LATM Outstanding Secondary School Math Teacher:

Ashley Holliday - Benton Middle School in Bossier Parish


2017 LATM Outstanding New Math Teacher:

Shelia Walsh - Academy of Our Lady in Jefferson Parish.


 LATM Lifetime Service Award

The Lifetime Service to Math Education Award recognizes an LATM member for distinguished service in the field of mathematics education. LATM members in good standing are invited to share in the selection process by sending nominations and a rationale for each nomination to the current LATM President via this nomination form link for review by the selection committee.

The award is designed to recognize an LATM member who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of math education in mathematics and/or mathematics teaching over a significant period of time. The recipient may be a former LATM officer, a current or former school administrator, state department of education employee, elected official, or other individual who meets the stated criteria. The nominee must have been a member of LATM for a minimum of 5 years.

Nell McAnelly Receives the 2016 LATM Lifetime Service to Math Education Award

Remembering Dr. Stan R. Chadick

Dr. Stan Chaddick

In 2014, the Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics began the Lifetime Service to Mathematics Education Award.  This award is designed to recognize a former LATM member who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of math education in mathematics and/or mathematics teaching over a significant period of time, and signifying the culmination of his/her career.

At the LATM/LSTA Joint Conference that year (2014), we were delighted to be able to honor Dr. Stan R. Chadick from Natchitoches as our first recipient. He was a most deserving individual after his lifetime of contributions to mathematics throughout the state of Louisiana. Now, it is will great sadness that we announce his death. He fought a long and courageous battle with cancer. We ask that you keep his family in your thoughts and prayers. Please see the obituary from Blanchard – St. Denis Funeral Home:


LATM Travel Grants

The Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics is awarding up to $3000 in travel grants with each grant awarded worth up to $300 to offset the expense of attending its 2017 LATM Conference in Baton Rouge, November 6-8, 2017. The money can be used to cover conference registration, short course registration, lodging, meals, parking, and/or travel. Grant applicants will be notified of their status at least one month prior to the conference. The money will be awarded at the conclusion of the conference. This year, two types of grants are offered: attendees and presenters.

 2017 LATM Travel Grant Applications are now closed.

Congratulations to the 2017 LATM Travel Grant recipients:

Mandy Boudwin, Lutcher High School teacher, Lutcher, LA

Ashley Johnson, Brentwood Elementary teacher, Lake Charles, LA

Rolanda Clark, Judson Fundamental Magnet School teacher, Shreveport, LA

Devan Bailey-McQuain, Lafayette Parish Math Coach, Lafayette, LA

Sierra Boutte, Jeanerette High School teacher, Jeanerette, LA

Christine Perez, Joshua Butler Elementary teacher, Westwego, LA

QSM Submissions for 2018-19

The Quality Science and Mathematics Competitive Grant Application for K-12 Regular Education Teachers in Louisiana Public Schools is now OPEN! Looking for a way to purchase classroom math and science materials? The answer might be waiting for you through the Quality Math and Science Grant Program. The QSM program administered by the Gordon Cain STEM Center at LSU (http://www.cain.lsu.edu) will award state-funded grants to eligible classroom teachers for the 2018-19 school year. Proposal information will be aviailable summer 2018.


You are eligible to submit an application for up to $750 to purchase non-consumable science or math instructional materials if you are a K-12 regular education teacher working in a Louisiana public school. Charter schools are public schools.


Find out more at:  https://qualityscienceandmathgrantprogram.communityforce.com.

Questions? Contact qualityscienceandmath@gmail.com

The Carol Meyer Scholarship Award

LATM is pleased to honor the memory of Carol Meyer, an elementary school mathematics teacher who died unexpectedly at an early age. Carol loved mathematics and was a recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. She was an outstanding math teacher and a fervent worker on the LATM executive board. She was always generous in sharing her love of math with her students and fellow teachers.

In Carol's memory, the Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics is pleased to award two $500.00 scholarships each year to college upperclassmen with a declared major in elementary education, mathematics education, or mathematics. In addition to the scholarship, the awardees shall receive complimentary LATM student memberships. It is our hope that another future outstanding mathematics teacher or mathematician will be helped along the way by this award.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 Carol Meyer Scholarship:

 George Cazenavette of Louisiana Tech University

Allison Free of Louisiana Tech University


 2018 Applications will be availible in early 2018.


The Presidential Award for Excellence in
Mathematics and Science Teaching

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Enacted by Congress in 1983, this program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

PAEMST Tip Sheet

For more information, visit http://www.paemst.org/ or

Contact our state coordinator:

Jean May-Brett
1627 Taylor Street
Kenner, LA 70062
Voice: 504.466.9621