LATM Lifetime Service Award


The Lifetime Service to Math Education Award recognizes an LATM member for distinguished service in the field of mathematics education. LATM members in good standing are invited to share in the selection process by sending nominations and a rationale for each nomination to the current LATM President for review by the selection committee. The award is designed to recognize an LATM member who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of math education in mathematics and/or mathematics teaching over a significant period of time. The recipient may be a teacher, a former LATM Executive Council member, a current or former school administrator, state department of education employee, elected official, or other individual who meets the stated criteria.


1. The nominee must have been a member of LATM for a minimum of 5 years.

2. The nominee must have exhibited an excellence of contribution to LATM.

3. Among the types of outstanding services that are considered by the committee are:

            - Unique or extraordinary contributions to the LATM organization.

            - Contributions to LATM over a significant period of time.

            - Active leadership in mathematics education at local, state, or national level.

            - Noteworthy scholarly contributions to mathematics education at any level.

            - Direct and substantial contributions to the improvement of math education at any level.

            - Overall excellence of contributions.

In addition to providing information about the nominee, the nomination form requires that the nominator provide two additional references (name, email address, and phone number) who can be contacted to provide additional information to support your nomination. Therefore, it is important to gather contact information for the nominee and the two references
prior to accessing the nomination form.

The LATM Board respectfully requests that nominees not be informed of their nomination.

Most of us can think of individuals who have had an impact in advancing mathematics education. Please consider nominating or more individuals worthy of this prestigious award no later than August 15, 2017.

  Submit Nomination Here